Paper Jewelry Book Review – “Handmade Paper Jewelry”

After another trip to the local library, I found “Handmade Paper Jewelry”  Interestingly it is by Heidi Borchers, Candace Liccoine, and Tiffany Windsor.  These ladies are the three daughters of Aleene Jackson.  Yes, the famous Aleene of Aleene’s Glues and Adhesives. (I no longer have possession of the book, so I’m not sure of the publisher. I believe it is Sterling Publishing, but don’t hold me to that.)

The book concentrates on paper jewelry, but not the traditional paper bead.  For example, the dragonfly you see on the cover was made from a grocery bag.  There is also: a metallic decoupage jewelry set; a butterfly gift wrap necklace; and a bracelet using ceramic tiles and metallic paper.  In total there are 40 projects.

Art, talent, innovation, even recycling can take on many forms.  Since I didn’t have many of the products required, I didn’t find this book particularly inspiring. But it may be just the creative trigger for you.

Visit your local library and see what mysteries await!

Janet (janettalk)
www.etsy.com/shop/paperchasejewelry

P.S.  While researching Sterling Publishing, I saw they have more paper-related reference books.  Hmmm.  I may need to check into that further.

Leave a Reply

