Back to Paper Beads

I’m back to the instructional part of paper beads.  These are pictures I took.  I’m not happy with my camera, but we aren’t going to “go there” at the moment.

Strictly speaking, you only need 3 components to make  paper bead: Paper, glue stick and toothpick. (Remember that everyone does this their own way. You can use something other than a toothpick.)

Carefully, you simply begin to roll the paper, large end first.  Once you finish rolling the paper, glue the tip to the paper bead.  As I have mentioned before, remember to mark the triangle on the wrong side of the paper.  If you look, you can see where I made my line before cutting.

Once you are at the end, glue the tip to the bead.  I’d like to say you’re done, but you aren’t.  Coating the bead is next.

Okay.  The above is fairly simple.  Anyone can do it.  I wish that were true.  If you are making earrings, you need two triangles that have the same beginning width. I can’t tell you how many times I thought I had this right, but it didn’t turn out that way.

What is on the paper that “shows” is important.  Look at my finished bead above.  Now below are beads I made from the same paper, including the new bead.  I like the variation in the bead representing paper, but I prefer they are somewhat alike for earrings.  The second and third bead from the left would not make a good pair of earrings.  Practice and patience are key.

I said this earlier in a post, but I’ll say it again.  There are more important things in the world than paper earrings.  This is something I began to do to help me through a difficult time and I enjoyed making jewelry with the beads.  Even if this isn’t for you,  find your own “therapy.”                              -janettalk

Next: Other problems in making beads.

Leave a Reply

